List vs Document Library

May 4, 2009 at 4:17 PM
First, awesome tool here... I spent the better part of last week trying to find the best way to extract my custom views and schema.xml without much luck. In a matter of minutes this morning I was able to take SPSource and get everything working... brilliant!

Forgive me if I'm way off-base with anything here, I've only been working with SharePoint for a few months now, so I'm still quite new at all this. I have a document library that I'm submitting InfoPath forms to (browser enabled). I have custom views of course. I was able to use SPSource against my Document Library (my library is called "Requests") without any problems. However, the feature it creates wants to place it in ~/Lists/Requests where originally the Library was created at ~/Requests. Ultimately, I don't care where the library lives...

So my question is, does it matter if a Document Library is in the same place as a List? Aren't they essentially the same thing? If it does matter, can I use something like DocumentLibrary.spsource instead of Lists.spsource in my project?

I hope I haven't butchered my question too much... thanks for a great tool!
-Sean
May 5, 2009 at 1:16 AM
Edited May 5, 2009 at 1:17 AM
Thanks for compliments.

I had this feature in mind for a later release...I’ve put it into CodePlex so if you’d like to add any detail on scenarios that it would be useful I’d appreciate it. http://spsource.codeplex.com/WorkItem/View.aspx?WorkItemId=22272

As for “what do I do in the meantime”...you can change the listmanifests ListInstance definition URL attribute to whatever you like without impacting it working or not ;-) Doesn’t need to be in Lists.

May 5, 2009 at 1:30 AM
Great, thanks! I did figure out where to make the changes in the schema.xml that's generated, but I didn't even think to look at the list_manifests.xml.